Helpful Websites

This page is a work in progress and more sites are being added. Please check back.

 

Government Pages

Travel Warnings & Consular Information Sheets  - http://travel.state.gov  202-647-5225

Passport Information - http://travel.state.gov  888-362-8668 (TDD: 888-498-3648)

Travisa (Visa Information) - www.travisa.com  800-421-5468

Request booklets for traveling abroad or living overseas - http://travel.state.gov

A Safe Trip Abroad / Your Trip Abroad / Travel Tips for Older Americans / Americans Residing Abroad / Tips for Travelers to: Sub-Saharan Africa / Canada / Central & South America / China / Mexico / Middle East & North Africa / South Asia / Russia, 

National Center for Infectious Diseases Travelers Health - http://www.cdc.gov

World Health Organization - www.who.int

Department of Treasury - US Customs Service - http://www.customs.ustreas.gov/xp/cgov/travel/ 

Tourism Offices Worldwide Directory - www.towd.com 

 

Health Related Websites

 

Traveler's Health CDC - http://wwwn.cdc.gov/travel/default.aspx

The Healthy Traveler - http://www.healthytraveler.com  

Travel Health Site - Pasteur Meriux Connaught - http://www.aventispasteur.com/   

     Request Travel Health Tips Booklet

 

International Society of Travel Medicine - www.istm.org 

The American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene - www.astmh.org 

 

Currency Exchange / Travelers Checks / Money Transfer

The Universal Currency Convertor - http://www.xe.net/ucc/ 

International Currency Exchange - www.foreignmoney.com  888-278-6628 (I always use them)

Travelex - www.travelex.com  800-445-0295

Order Currency - www.ordercurrency.com 877-663-8309

Western Union Money Transferwww.westernunion.com 800-235-0000

American Express - 800-221-7282

Mastercard - 800-223-9920

Thomas Cook - 800-287-7369

Visa - 800-227-6811

 

Miscellaneous Sites

American Society of Travel Agents - www.astanet.com 

International Electricity Guide - http://www.austinhouse.com/html/wweg.html 

     800-268-5157

AAA Travel Services - http://www.aaa-calif.com/travel/index.asp  888-874-7222

United States Tour Operator Association - www.ustoa.com 

Zierer Visa Service - www.zvs.com 

Weather Service - www.weather.com 

 

Backpacker Sites

Hosteling International -   http://www.hihostels.com/openHome.sma

Hosteling International USA - http://www.hihostels.com

Youth Hostel Association Australia - http://www.yha.com.au/

Council Travel - www.counciltravel.com  800-2Council

International Student Identity Card (ISIC) - www.isiccard.com   

ISIC Helpline - 877-370-ISIC (4742)

International Discounts - www.isic.org 

Bakpak Travelers Guide - www.bakpakguide.com  

STA Travel - www.statravel.com 

 

Travel Supplies

Magellans Travel Supplies - www.magellans.com  800-962-4943

Travel Gizmos - www.travelgizmos.com  877-736-7453

R.E.I. - www.rei.com  800-426-4840

Travel Smith - www.travelsmith.com   800-950-1600

Adventure 16 - www.adventure16.com  619-283-2362

Sierra Trading Post - www.sierratradingpost.com  800-713-4534

 

Guide Books

Lonely Planet - www.lonelyplanet.com  800-275-8555

Rough Guides - www.travel.roughguides.com 

Let's Go - www.letsgo.com 

 

Discount Travel Sites

Octopus Travel - www.Octopustravel.com  Great for hotel rooms worldwide

 

Transportation Sites

Eurail Passes - www.eurail.com

Greyhound Bus - www.greyhound.com  10% off with ISIC card

 

Travel Insurance Companies - Call and compare to see which is right for you

Travelguard Travel Insurance - www.travelguard.com/   800-826-4919

Global Travel Insurance - www.globaltravelinsurance.com/  800-232-9415

International SOS Assistance - www.intsos.com  800-523-8662

Inter X Medical Insurance (Travel Insurance Services) - www.travelinsure.com 800-937-1387

TravelSafe Insurance - www.travelsafe.com  800-523-8020

Global Care Insurance Coverage - http://www.globalcare-cocco.com/csa/jsp/index.jsp  

800-821-2488

Global Alert Insurance - http://www.globalalerttravel.info/   800-423-3632

Travel Insured International - http://www.travelinsured.com/  800-243-3174

STA Travel Insurance - http://www.statravel.com/Statravel/travelinsurance/ti_landing.aspx?menuid=5000  800-781-4040

Travelex Insurance - https://www.travelex-insurance.com    888-457-4602

Access America Travel Protection - http://www.accessamerica.com  866-807-3982

Worldwide Assistance - http://www.worldwideassistance.com/index.htm  800-777-8710

The Berkely Group - http://www.berkely.com/   800-797-4514

CSA Travel Protection - http://www.csatravelprotection.com  800-348-9505

Universal Travel Protection - http://www.utravelpro.com   800-694-4311

 

Flags of the World

World Maps